Psalm 40: A Psalm of David

images

I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
    out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
    making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth,
    a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear,
    and put their trust in the Lord.

Blessed is the man who makes
    the Lord his trust,
who does not turn to the proud,
    to those who go astray after a lie!
You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
    your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;
    none can compare with you!
I will proclaim and tell of them,
    yet they are more than can be told.

In sacrifice and offering you have not delighted,
    but you have given me an open ear.
Burnt offering and sin offering
    you have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I have come;
    in the scroll of the book it is written of me:
I delight to do your will, O my God;
    your law is within my heart.”

I have told the glad news of deliverance
    in the great congregation;
behold, I have not restrained my lips,
    as you know, O Lord.
10 I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart;
    I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation;
I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness
    from the great congregation.

11 As for you, O Lord, you will not restrain
    your mercy from me;
your steadfast love and your faithfulness will
    ever preserve me!
12 For evils have encompassed me
    beyond number;
my iniquities have overtaken me,
    and I cannot see;
they are more than the hairs of my head;
    my heart fails me.

13 Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me!
    O Lord, make haste to help me!
14 Let those be put to shame and disappointed altogether
    who seek to snatch away my life;
let those be turned back and brought to dishonor
    who delight in my hurt!
15 Let those be appalled because of their shame
    who say to me, “Aha, Aha!”

16 But may all who seek you
    rejoice and be glad in you;
may those who love your salvation
    say continually, “Great is the Lord!”
17 As for me, I am poor and needy,
    but the Lord takes thought for me.
You are my help and my deliverer;
    do not delay, O my God!

PSALM 40 BROKEN DOWN

Psalm is one of the most referred to books in the Bible. However, people usually take parts of verses without seeing the big picture. This is a break down of Psalm 40, on of the most quoted chapters in Psalm, to see what is actually being talked about and what message the writer is actually trying to get across.

I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
    out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
    making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth,
    a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear,
    and put their trust in the Lord.

Verses one through three depicts the personal struggles that David had to endure, but God always saw him through it. This could be referring to the book of 2 Samuel when he strayed from his morals and self control. According to http://www.christnotes.org/commentary.php?com=mhc&b=19&c=40 it is the redemption of God. The Hebrews were wanting to share David’s redemption, so the future readers will know God helps them through anything.

il_340x270.438766668_jn1k

David wants his people to know that their God not only hears prayers, but answers them as well. The pit of destruction, verse two, could be looked at how he was self destruction his self and only God could bring him out, no earthly comforts. According too https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/mhc/Psa/Psa_040.cfm , we see a form of  “religious melancholy” in this part of Psalm.

185218861_7b29c8b16d

He silenced his fears, and stilled the tumult of his spirits, and gave him a settled peace of conscience (v. 2): “He brought me up out of that horrible pit of despondency and despair, scattered the clouds, and shone brightly upon my soul, with the assurances of his favour; and not only so, but set my feet upon a rock and established my goings.’ Those that have been under the prevalency of a religious melancholy, and by the grace of God have been relieved, may apply this very feelingly to themselves; they are brought up out of a horrible pit. “

Blessed is the man who makes
    the Lord his trust,
who does not turn to the proud,
    to those who go astray after a lie!
You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
    your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;
    none can compare with you!
I will proclaim and tell of them,
    yet they are more than can be told.

36963fa31820eaf41d15a5a155847582ce88f0b550f59e7a95cb85b72198c46b

Verses four through five talk about how God is generous towards his followers, even if they are unworthy. It also is talking about how God is always looking out for his people. David knows that God is hears him and wants the future followers to know that as well. David is praising God because, he receives more than what was promised. He will tell his people of all the wonderful things that God has bestowed upon him, but God has done numerous things. So, there is no way David can tell all the blessings he has received, except through this poem. Also, the ending of verse four can be referring to Biblical false gods.

download

In sacrifice and offering you have not delighted,
    but you have given me an open ear.
Burnt offering and sin offering
    you have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I have come;
    in the scroll of the book it is written of me:
I delight to do your will, O my God;
    your law is within my heart.”

cartoon_jesus_is_not_amused_by_siouxstar-d4d8xt9

Verses six through eight I found a little bit more interesting.  Verse six could be a form of foreshadowing for Jesus. This could be after Jesus died how the people no longer had to give sacrifices. According to, http://www.spurgeon.org/treasury/ps040.htm , David sees it a great honor to have his name written and mentioned in “the great book of life.” Verse eight is talking about how pleasing God is rewarding within itself.

I have told the glad news of deliverance
    in the great congregation;
behold, I have not restrained my lips,
    as you know, O Lord.
10 I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart;
    I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation;
I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness
    from the great congregation.

11 As for you, O Lord, you will not restrain
    your mercy from me;
your steadfast love and your faithfulness will
    ever preserve me!
12 For evils have encompassed me
    beyond number;
my iniquities have overtaken me,
    and I cannot see;
they are more than the hairs of my head;
    my heart fails me.

Verses nine through twelve depict several different elements. In verse nine, David is over joyed with the news he spreaded for the God. The bottom part of this verse, “behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O Lord.”, is talking  about how nothing could keep him from spreading God’s messages, promises, and laws.

download (1)

In verse ten, we how David did not keep God to himself in a selfish way. David told all he could what God put hon his heart, he did not let greed overcome him. In verses eleven through twelve, we see some artistic patterns. This poem has not had a rhyme scheme in the English translation, but it more than likely did in its original Hebrew from. However, with the multiple use of “me” at the ends of these verses, it is easy to assume that the Hebrew translation did have a rhyme in its original state.

download (2)

Verse eleven is talking about how God never let him down and his unfailing love will always be with him and he knows that Heaven awaits him. Verse twelve talks about sin. The “evils”, sin, have hit him in numerous ways They have taken him over. He has sinned more times than there is hair on his head, and doing wrong has caused him to have a heavy heart. David is wanting the future readers to know, assuming this was actually written by David, that sin can and will drag you down, but with God, you can make it through hard times.

 13 Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me!
    O Lord, make haste to help me!
14 Let those be put to shame and disappointed altogether
    who seek to snatch away my life;
let those be turned back and brought to dishonor
    who delight in my hurt!
15 Let those be appalled because of their shame
    who say to me, “Aha, Aha!”

download (3)images (1)

Verses thirteen through fifteen talk about redemption from sin. In verse thirteen, we see David crying out to God for redemption for his sins. He can not bare a heavy heart any longer, so he wants God to hurry. Verse fourteen, according to http://www.spurgeon.org/treasury/ps040.htm , can be read as a “prophecy or a prayer”. The point is, whoever goes against David and God’s chosen people will be prosecuted. Verse fifteen shows how words can be harmful. “Aha, Aha” is like a mockery and if you say that to David, it is like you are saying it to God since David does the work of God.

16 But may all who seek you
    rejoice and be glad in you;
may those who love your salvation
    say continually, “Great is the Lord!”
17 As for me, I am poor and needy,
    but the Lord takes thought for me.
You are my help and my deliverer;
    do not delay, O my God!

Verses sixteen and seventeen conclude chapter forty. Verse sixteen can be seen has a prayer by David for the readers of this text. David wants people to know how great God is and all who see his power will rejoice by saying his name. In verse seventeen, David want people to see the state he was and is in and to know that God never gave up on him. Since David was a powerful leader, seeing him say he is poor and needy is talking talking about wealth, but his spiritual nature. He can not get enough of God.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yE_6TkwOK0o

Psalm 40 was an enjoyable read. David wants the Hebrews to know that, the less they think of themselves, the more that they will trust God and the more he can do for them.

images (2)

Leave a Reply

